peeling potatoes

 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30, MSG

Work can be stressful, and even though it definitely has it’s rewards, it’s easy to get lost in the urgency of life and ministry. It’s IMG_3540nice to have time to get “down to earth”.

Yesterday, the staff of Casa Adalia were invited to participate in a retreat day at a beautiful property outside of the city. We had some solo time, which I spent lying on the grass surrounded by lemon, mango, mandarin and avocado trees. I may have fallen asleep… just a little bit though. The focus verse of the day was Matthew 11:28, and then, as if God wanted me to really get it, it was also the daily devotional in Max Lucado’s “Grace for the Moment.” (July 30)

Then, today I had the opportunity to play hooky from work and go with Manuel to Otavalo and spend time with our Pastor friend and his family there. I was able to find rest and distraction squatting on the ground peeling a mountain of potatoes with my indigenous friends.

I love how nature brings me closer to God, and I will try to find more space in my life for times like this!

 

Leave a comment